Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
2014 Joint Awards for Career Achievement & Contributions

Translational Science 2014 Awards for Career Achievement and Contributions

In the fifth year of the Translational Science meeting, the sponsoring and partnering organizations of ACTS and AFMR continued to acknowledge the outstanding contributions of investigators and educators in the field.

The recipients of each award were recognized during Translational Science 2014, April 9-11, 2014 in Washington, DC.

ACTS Distinguished Investigator Awards

Edward H. Ahrens, Jr. Award for Patient Oriented Research 

Steven K. Grinspoon, MD, Massachusetts General Hospital

Steven Grinspoon currently serves as a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School and director of the in nutritional metabolism program at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston. His career has focused on the performance of patient oriented research and through this approach, he has made major findings to further our understanding of cardiometabolic disease in patients with HIV.

ACTS Distinguished Investigator Award for Career Achievement and Contribution to Clinical and Translational Science for Translation from Early Clinical Use to Applicability for Widespread Clinical Practice

Robert M. Califf, MD, Duke University Medical Center

Robert Califf has authored more than 1,200 publications, led scores of major national and international clinical studies, and developed the nation’s preeminent clinical research enterprise at Duke. He has also had a profound impact on the field by shaping national policies around the conduct of clinical and translational research and by driving the methodological and regulatory changes needed to revitalize the US clinical research enterprise.

ACTS Distinguished Investigator Award for Career Achievement and Contribution to Clinical and Translational Science for Translation from Clinical Use into Public Benefit and Policy

Marie R. Griffin, MD, MPH, Vanderbilt University 

Marie Griffin’s contributions in the prevention of infectious diseases, specifically influenza, have spanned over 30 years. Her work has made substantive contributions to the public’s health and has had direct impact on policy. She has played a critical role in the career development of over 150 physician scientists and epidemiologists, and is internationally known for her work in medication safety and effectiveness.

ACTS Distinguished Educator Award

Eugene P. Orringer, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Eugene Orringer is widely recognized for his passion, dedication, and commitment to training the next generation of researchers. At the University of North Carolina, he has created the Office of Clinical Trials (OCT) to encourage collaboration between industry and academic investigators and to teach junior investigators to navigate regulatory issues. In his role as executive associate dean for faculty affairs and faculty development, he was integral in the creation of the Office of Research and Faculty Development (ORFD). In addition to his impact at UNC, he has held a number of national leadership roles, including roles within NIH and many CTSA institutions.

AFMR Outstanding Investigator Award

Yutong Zhao, MD, PhD, University of Pittsburgh

Yutong Zhao is a well-recognized and independent expert in lung epithelial biology. He has been exceptionally productive, with more than 50 manuscripts in peer-reviewed journals, and has attracted an exceptional level of independent extramural support. His discoveries on the role of lysophosphatidic acid in the regulation of lung epithelial barrier integrity fundamentally represent a significant advancement not only within the phospholipid field, but also in the area of lung epithelial biology.

Team Science Award

Community Partners in Care Council

This unique team is comprised of interdisciplinary scientists and community stakeholders working in a collaborative partnership, all contributing expertise, over 10 years to develop a partnered approach to science development and implementation, as well as an evidence basis for the added value of community engagement and partnership as an approach to implement evidence based collaborative care for depression. The 10-year development of this approach spans Witness for Wellness, the Partnered Research Center and Community Partners in Care, integrated for the work nominated through the Community Partners in Care Council.

Barry Coller ACTS Excellence in Service Award

Harry P. Selker, MD, MSPH, Tufts University Clinical and Translational Science Institute 

Harry Selker has provided extraordinary service to ACTS through his leadership of its joint advocacy activities with Clinical Research Forum, and as the Vice President for Healthcare Implementation, Delivery and Policy Research for the inaugural ACTS Board of Directors. He has been a champion of supporting trainees in the translational sciences and engaging them in advocacy to support the mission of ACTS. He has also served in leadership roles for SCTS and ACRT, two of the three societies that eventually formed ACTS.

Community Search
Sign In